Advisory Board

Advisory Board

The UGA College of Engineering Advisory Board provides support and counsel on matters that improve the quality and relevance of UGA engineering programs. The board assists the dean, faculty and students by:

  • reviewing the current status of engineering programs and identifying future opportunities that make UGA more effective in fulfilling its mission as a public land-grant university;
  • providing inputs to strengthening existing academic programs and developing new ones to meet the needs of society;
  • advising on opportunities that lead to innovative research directions and partnerships most appropriate for UGA;
  • identifying outreach needs in which engineering has a significant role and fostering connections with entrepreneurial entities; and
  • supporting the College of Engineering’s need to continuously expand its financial base.

Engineering Advisory Board Members

J. Barnie Beasley, Jr., P.E.
Director, American Electric Power
Karen Burg
Harbor Lights Chair in Biomedical Research and Professor, UGA
Leonard J. Buckley
Director - Science & Technology Division, Institute for Defense Analyses
Mickey Brown, P.E.
Executive VP, Georgia Power
D. Timothy Campbell
Vice Chair

Founder & Managing Partner, Bright Sky Enterprises
Toby Carr
Assoc. VP for Government Relations & Dir. of State Relations, UGA
Robert Falcone
VP - IT Strategy & Shared Services, Thyssen Krupp North America

Thomas M. Fischer
Director, Engineering and Technical Management, United States Air Force, Robins Air Force Base

Steven Hartman
Chief Technology Officer - Power Generation Services, GE Power & Water
Todd Henry
Plant Manager - Building Construction Projects, Caterpillar
Denslay Hoffman
Research and Development Project Engineering Manager, Gulfstream Aerospace Corporation

Jonathan Jones
Fermentation Improvement Engineer, Dow AgroSciences

R. Edward Perkins

International VP, Johnson & Johnson (retired)

Jagannath Rao - Chair
​President, Customer Service Division Siemens USA


Jim Redmond
Acting Director, Engineering Sciences Center, Sandia National Laboratories


Janet Westpheling
Professor of Genetics, UGA